Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Mankind has been practicing arts for thousands of years. It promotes creativity and is recognized all over the world. Michael Jackson, a legend of dancing inspired many people all over the world in the art of dancing. The government must provide infrastructure and opportunities for the people to pursue arts. Schools of art established by governments have brought realized the dream of many people to become artists.

Although investing in arts is a good decision, it is not possible to send artists to fight against threats for the country. The government must invest in military to protect the country from external and internal threats.

One of the main responsibilities of the army is to protect the borders. The Indian Government has instituted the Border security force (BSF), to patrol the borders and prevent infiltration of enemies and terrorists. The security force has been successful in preventing thousands of incursions and illegal entries to India and has won over 1000 medals of bravery.

The army, navy and air force requires a lot of sophisticated tools and equipment in order to function effectively. To illustrate, the army would need powerful scanners to detect incoming missiles and nullify them. Furthermore, each military plane and aircraft is worth hundreds of thousands of dollars.

The soldiers would also need a lot of training to combat terrorism, sea piracy, naxal activities effectively. The soldiers should be trained in all kinds of terrains and should be able to handle grave situations with craftiness. The NSG commandos who fought against the terrorists in the 26/11 attack in mumbai had the uphill task of eliminatng terroists and rescuing the hostages.

Even though arts is important for the culture of a nation, the government must invest in military more to protect its interests.