Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and suppor

Sovereignty and culture are two important aspects to gauge a nation's progress. The question here is should a country place same emphasis and invest as much in art as to maintain its autonomy. I believe that a nation should decide on investment by keeping in mind economic conditions and other important aspects that country needs to address on priority.

The claim that government should invest equivalent amount in arts and as it does to maintain its military is illogical. The investment need not necessarily be equivalent and it might differ from nation to nation based on multiple factors that I will further explore to make my stand cogent.

To say that a country should invest as much in arts as in military is mawkish and impractical in many cases such as for developing and underdeveloped nations. Although I agree that a nation should encourage its citizen to learn art and promote it, as it reflects nation’s tradition and culture. It might seem plausible for nations like U.S., U.K. and other developed nations to invest more and more amounts for arts and recreational activity. For under developed and developing nations it is pragmatic to address critical issues like poverty, lower standard of living and medical ailments of its citizens rather then to invest more in arts.

There are plenty of examples in today’s world where different countries are trying to establish their supremacy and dominance in world. With terrorism burgeoning at faster pace than ever it is even more important now than ever for countries to maintain their territorial integrity and this can be done only when they have a powerful military and advanced state of art weapons. With fast evolving technology and innovation, it is precarious for nation’s integrity to have under developed military. So, it might not be feasible for economically weak countries to keep the same share of budget for arts as it might do for its military.

One might argue that investment done in arts might give good returns to a nation in form of increased exports of artefacts such as handicrafts and increased tourism and a nation should not refrain from making more investments in arts. This might seem practical but to aver that government should create an equivalent share in budget for arts and recreation as it does for military is bound to fail. A country without a strong military will not be able to maintain integrity and stability it will definitely hinder growth of nation including its arts sector. Thus, above arguments falls apart.

I think a strong military can help arts to flourish as global investors are more likely to invest in a stable market which will eventually provide a boost to development of sophisticated art industry. Although it is important for government to make sure that a nation flourishes in all dimensions including arts but decisions regarding investments should be based on its long-term goals for which stability and integrity are essential.