High schools should require all of their students to play a musical instrument.

Compose a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the above statement. Develop your position, and offer supporting details. Discuss specific circumstances and give examples in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous. Be sure to explain how your examples shape your position.

In today's world, students should have the knowledge of music. With the advancement in technology, they are spending more time on social media which will lead them nowhere. The basic knowledge of music will be beneficial to them in the long run. Thus, I agree with the assertion that high schools should require all their students to play a musical instrument.

At high school level, the competition among students increases. The pressure of studies and to rank high in class is a lot. Music can provide a source to vent out this pressure. It also helps them to soothe their mind off the burden and tension of daily work. Listening to music or even playing an instrument can prove very beneficial.

Studying the whole time can be sometimes very monotonous. If one knows to play a musical instrument, it acts as a pleasant distraction and calms the person. Playing an instrument can act as a stress relieving factor in today's stressful life. Ability to play an instrument, the students can present good performances on their annual day. When the people around you are well versed in the same subject, in this case knowing music, everyone can discuss about creating new tones or refining those of others and helping each other excel.

Music is also a very good form of entertainment. When students go for a picnic, they often sing songs and play games. It would be a very good plus point if they also knew to play an instrument along with it to give good tune. Thus Overall I am in favour of high schools having the requirement of all their students knowing to play a musical instrument.