The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The statement that, the best way to solve environment problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household, hold true to a certain limit. As the years pass by the population is increasing day by day. Consequently, causing a rise in the amount of waste generated. The people of the society should figure out ways in which they could curb the amount of waste they dispose.

By ways to reduce the amount of waste disposed, means that though the waste generated is more but that disposed or released into the environment is reduced. It is not only the duty of the government to solve the problems of environment. A major role is played by the masses in doing so. Firstly, they should be taught to segregate their waste into wet and dry waste.

Alternate ways should be devised to reduce pollution. Rather than using plastic bags which generate waste we should start using cloth bags. Plastic bags at times don’t provide good strength to hold things, while cloth bags are pretty strong. Plastic bags on disposal clog the drains and are burned which causes air pollution.

Other ways to solve these problems is to promote recycling of waste. One good example of recycling is reuse of waste paper to make decorative paper. Instead of buying new decorative paper from market which will eventually create more waste, we could reuse the existing paper from home and produce really good decorative sheets. Another example is reuse of waste glass bottles to make artistic and attractive lanterns which add beauty to one’s room. People should be taught to use the trash they generate for biogas preparation. This way they will also save up on the amount of electricity they consume.

In conclusion, in order to impose strict limits on waste collection on household’s, ways to curd the disposal of waste should be taught to the people. Awareness about recycling and use of correct materials should be spread. This will definitely lead to a decrease in waste generation. The town and city leaders should also come up with better and efficient ways to do away with the waste collected.