If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author of the issue is of the view that when a goal is valuable, then any action to obtain that goal is acceptable. As far as I am concerned, I cannot agree this idea, and I will elaborate on my reasons in the following paragraphs.

To start with, the definition of a goal “being worthy” is not an absolute standard. The value of an object for a certain group will not necessarily be the same for another group. Therefore, the means which are utilized in the path of achieving a specific goal matter. For example, environmental activists maintain that abstaining meat consumption is crucial for preventing the global warming issue. They assert that if all people stop using meat as their main dishes and replace it with herbal foods, the process of global warming will eventually vanish. On the other hand, many people around the world, especially children, need to consume protein which meat is a rich resource of it, and cutting that amount of nutritious material will harm their health. As it can be seen, the activists’ goal is valuable in their point of view, but boycotting the meat consumption is not plausible for many people.

Secondly, not all means taken to making an aim happen are always ethical. The elites of societies have established rules and protocols to lay lines of morality, preserving the benefits of the society members. There are some valorous goals that a specific group might try to achieve, but the means of that would harm some other groups, and that is not acceptable. For instance, many pharmaceutical products have side-effects, and for determining those effects, the scientists perform experiments on animals. In a society that cherishes the animal rights, this action annoys the groups of animal right advocates, and cause contradictions between these two groups. Therefore, if a practice considered as amoral action it would not be justified as a mean to attain a goal.

However, some goals which are too valuable to reach, there are boundaries that put the validity of means under question. We cannot claim that “any” object is justifiable to take to reach a specific aim.

To sum up, the assertion that it is acceptable to practice any means to attain a valuable goal is not applicable to every situation, and the exactitude of the “value” of the goal depends on the group who is following it, not all individuals of a society. Additionally, the morality and ethical issues related with the means of achieving the goal is something that cannot be overlooked. If the points that are mentioned above be more clear, then the authors claim can be plausible in my perspective.