If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Everybody should have a goal. As the old saying says,” The soldier who does not want to be a general is not a good soldier.” And it is true that we need to pay off if we want to realize our goal. But this is not mean that anything we do to attain the goal is justifiable. So I disagree with the prompt that if a goal is worthy, any means to attain it are justifiable. There are two reasons to explain my statement.

To begin with, if we want to realize a goal, we should try our best to attain it. But we should not do something that diminishes others to benefit us. It will not be tolerated if we do something harmful to others just to access our’ goals. Sometimes when you do not mind whatever it takes to attain it will reversely prevent you to attain the goal. For instance, through the times of the second war, Hitler killed many innocent people just to realize his dream. The behaviors that he did make thousands of people lose their life. In the end, he failed. What can we know from this example is that this world consists of people, so when you are trying to attain a goal, you have to consider others if what you want to do will influence other people.

Moreover, how should we define whether a goal is worthy? Something we thought to be worthy may be useless or even harmful to other people. Consequently, things we did to attain our worthy goal will cause trouble to others. For instance, a patient who suffers from heart disease needs another healthy heart to change. If we take any means as the prompt says, should we kill people with a healthy heart? The above example illustrates that we can not take any means to attain a goal just because we think it is worthy by ourselves.

However, if we make sure that what we want to achieve will not hurt the interests of others, we should try our best to attain it. For instance, almost all of us want to study at the best university, so in order to realize our dream, we could do is work so hard and practice more and more.

To sum up, we should take any means to attain our goal with the precondition that our goal will not hurt others.