If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A goal can be defined as an objective or a desired result of a person. Based on the goal the person chooses the actions to be taken in order to pursue the goal. The author says 'If any goal is worthy then any means taken to attain it are justifiable'. I partially disagree with the author about his idea. The actions taken by a person in order to achieve his goal depends on what situation he/she is during the course of achievement.

Taking a general example, like throughout the world 90% of people aim to earn more and more money. As their need increases their greed for money also increases. Normal people infact most of us achieve this goal by shear hardwork, perseverance and struggle. But there are also people who always intend to take shortcuts to earn money, people like drug dealers, serial killers, corrupt politicians and many more of such kind. These people never intend to work hard for their sole aim of earning money. They kill people, break rules and laws, betray people and in some cases even their families are not spared against their evil actions. In such cases the means to achieve the goal is not justifiable.

Secondly, all the students in the world aim to score best possible marks in their exams let it be their high school/college exams, entrance exams or tests for an interview. The students are taught not to cheat in their exams since their very first exam. But there are a few students who not only cheats but also crosses all the limits of cheating in an exam. As in the student apart from cheating in the exam may bribe the teacher or the moderator who is going to check the examination papers in order to achieve highest possible marks then his/her fellow colleagues. Some students even achieve this goal by having an influence with the moderator wherein the moderator gives him/her highest possible marks. Nowadays, there are many new tricks and ways to cheat in an exam just to be the first among everyone or to clear the examination which otherwise would not be possible. This shows that not all the means taken to achieve one's goal are justifiable.

Looking to the other side I do agree with the author upto some extent. A case in which a rape victim has to defend herself by any means from the rapist. The rapist won't let go the victim even if she is pleading more than she should. So the victim left with no choice has to hurt the rapist in order to save herself. She would hurt him just by performing some basic self defense tricks or in worst case scenario she would eventually kill him. The victim's motive was to get herself saved from the evil being which by any means would have justified her actions.

In conclusion I would like to say that any action taken in order to achieve one's goal can be said to be justifiable depending upon the situations or circumstances through which the person pursues the goal and also depends upon the goal whether it is to hurt/betray/cheat the society or save/protect/work for the betterment of the society.