If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Each individual and entity often has a different set of goals to achieve, which frequently requires a careful analysis of the process towards them. Some argue that the idea of achieving these goals is what ultimately counts and any means to do so is justified, as the prompt states. Others, on the other hand, emphasize the importance of evaluating whether a certain way to attain them is more ideal than another, in terms of, say, morality. This is undoubtedly a subjective matter in nature, but a quick reflection on a few past events, ranging from a series of corporate frauds in recent years to historical non-violent movements, lends credence to the view that the statement can be a dangerous idea.

First, the idea that any means can be justified as long as the goal is worthy can lead to extreme actions that result in devastating outcomes. If we revisit the recent history of corporate frauds, committed by profit-driven, often greedy corporations, it is evident that how one achieves certain goals should be in fact carefully considered. For instance, the case of HSBC’s involvement in money laundering for drug cartels shook the world, revealing the company’s mentality to do whatever takes to achieve one goal - to secure profits. Not only was this action illegal, but it also led to destabilization of the financial market, thereby negatively affecting millions of lives across the globe. Therefore, although there is nothing wrong with aiming for higher profits per se, if we justify any means as long as the goal is worthwhile, we could trigger such detrimental actions.

Another example that illustrates the ways in which how to achieve a goal is equally important is historical debate on violence. For example, Martin Luther King Jr. is known for his advocacy for non-violent social justice movements. In a tremendous effort to fight against the Jim Crows laws, he believed that violence as a means to do so would only beget more violence. Given the social landscape in which the black community was constantly brutalized by the police as well as a white supremacy group, he could have easily resorted to violence but instead chose to draw on reason and logic. This insight into human nature coupled with his judgement about the importance of the non-violent means to achieve a worthy goal called equality serves as evidence that how one achieves that goal demands a careful and sober analysis. Hence, it stands to reason that the presented statement does not always hold true.

Yet, while the examples above clearly call for a careful view of the statement, we cannot go as far to conclusively argue that the mentality to “do whatever takes” always entails negative ramifications. To give an example, it is not uncommon for a student to be taught the importance of being resilient when he or she faces a challenge in the process of accomplishing a goal, such as getting an A for mathematics. If this mindset is carefully nurtured and encouraged, the student can learn to be resourceful and proactive enough to come up with solutions to the challenge by asking himself or herself what would be possible through proper means. However, as this still requires a clear guidance by the teacher to ensure that certain actions such as cheating cannot be justified under any circumstance, it is fair to argue that this mindset nontheless needs to be considered with caution.

In summary, while there are numerous arguments to be made for both sides, the cases of HSBC and Martin Luther King Jr. exemplify the idea that any means taken to achieve a goal cannot be justifiable as long as the goal is a worthy one. Striving to achieve a challenging goal should be encouraged in certain cases, but justifying actions that are not only illegal or immoral but also destructive to others in this process cannot be supported.