If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement that if an idea is worthy enough, any means neccessary in order to achieve this goal is justifiable is controversial. There are causes so dire that obstacles and hindrances must be overcome in order to attain the intended outcome. Conversely, some goals may be necessary, but often intrude onto the liberties of others in the process. Ultimately, the idea that achieving a goal by any means necessary is simply too broad in scope and inflicting to others.

Worthy is subjective. Earth is characterized by it's vastness and uniqueness. We all have separate opinions and disagree on a multitude of ideals. What may be deemed a worthy cause by one person, may not be seen equally by another. For instance, many children find it necessary to buy a brand new video game; parents worldwide see differently (their bank accounts agree). Certainly, there are cases where achieving something is worth ignoring constituents, but to live by the aphorism of "any means necessary" is simply too radical.

Furthermore, accepting a goal as necessary and doing whatever it may take to achieve this goal is narrow minded. Some of the most motivated people in the world are fueled by religion. For example, take radicalism. The destruction of the twin towers on September 11, 2001 was emboldened by religious fanaticism and jingoism. Suicide bombers and their constituents take lives because they strongly believe in their vision and will do anything necessary to achieve it. The statement is parochial in nature and ignores the needs of others.

However, one could sympathize with those who are motivated towards particular causes and refrain from stopping until their goal is achieved. Elon Musk has dedicated himself to pacifying our rapid descent into global warming. He has burnt through billions of dollars in his attempt to dethrone fossil fuels as our main source for energy and establish Tesla in the automobile industry. His blind passion is empowering and inspires people, but it has taken it's toll. Elon Musk has had three previous marriages and attests to his work getting the way of his personal development. Nonetheless, the statement creates an arguable position.

There are visions so powerful that it is understandable to ignore the needs and wants of others in order to achieve such an aspiration. Contrarily, the statement is too broad scoping. Compromise is necessary - without it, the world would be anarchy.