If people disregard the great work of the past , it is because these works no longer answer the needs of the present.

As, stated above the author describes the selfish nature of the present human race, that the present generation disregard the great work of the past only because they are no longer in need of the present generation . I accede with the statement of the author beacuse it reflects the present situation of the human race.

For instance , people will only use any of the past work if they in any case need it or have to review it for getting a conclusion for the research done by them. For example, the great works of Wright brothers are widely used by the avionics companies to get advancements in this field. Not only avionics companies but many other field of research used their outstanding work related to the fundamental of the cycles.. But once all of the conclusion is used from these works then people will simply disregard this kind of works and will focus on different works or invention of different fields.

However, one also have to pragmatic about how the work is being disregarded. That is if the conclusion of any work is disregarded or the complete existence of any work is disregarded. In addition to this , many people disregard great work of past simply because the conclusions made by them in those field is contradicting the conclusion of the past work . So, the disregarding of the past work is based on the proclivity of the present people and their needs.

Moreover, many such great work are also not disregarded by the people because their existence is the only cause of today's comfort and leisure and the advancement in technology. For instance, the new "relative quantum mechanism" is based on the great work done by Sir Issac Newton that is "The quantum theory" ,whose conclusions are the building blocks of the recent theory. There are many such examples other than the field of science of technology, where the work done in the past cannot be disregarded according to the need of the people.

Hence , the statement is amenable or not is decided by the predilection of the modern world people. People should always have to remember the past work that is significant in this modern human race and few great work can be disregarded by the people.