The increasingly rapid pace of life today causes more problems than it solves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Our life has been accelerating ever since the industrial revolution. With every new technology that comes out, the efficiency of our life is increased in ways inconceivable to our ancestors. Despite its positive impact on many aspects of humanity, a fast-paced life creates many more new challenges.

The rapid pace of life is a result of the blooming technology development. The inventions of new automobiles, aircrafts, telecommunication and internet revolutionized how we lead our life, and enabled us to efficiently overcome a barrier to communication, distance. Not only has it allowed families and friends around the world to catch up easily, it also brings about enormous change in the economical development in remote regions. For example, local farmers can now transport their fresh goods to a wider consumer base than ever before, expanding their business has never been a dream so feasible.

The fast-paced life, unfortunately, is not without perils. As people increase the efficiency of work, team work becomes easier, and collaborators can be reached wherever they are and whenever it is. Even when people are physically at home, their time with family is worn away by the never ending messages and calls. Quality family time is unfortunately not something that could speed up, and as one spend more energy dealing with fast-paced work, he or she would conceivably have less energy left for their precious family. This would result in emotional neglect, which can have irreversible effect on children and the relationship.

Moreover, a fast-paced life can be suffocating sometimes, inducing health issues of many kinds. A larger than ever proportion of people die of neglected health risks associated with work. Mental illnesses triggered by stress prevail in urban populations, who are subject to the highest speed of life. These are all obvious problems created by the accelerated life that easily becomes too pushy.

As discussed above, although a fast-paced life is associated with high efficiency, profit and hence development, the challenges it poses for humankind are immense.