An international development organization in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A While seeds for this new type of millet cost more farmers will be p

In the prompt, it is concluded that in order to defend vitamin A deficiency among people, the government of Tagus should direct their full focus on promoting the new type of millet with high vitamin A. The assumption is made on the basis that new type of millets would be readily adopted by the people as millets are already a staple food for them. However, this claim is based on some unwarranted assumptions which need clarification on three points.

First of all, does the new type of millet show any difference in taste, smell or appearance from the ordinary one? If it is different in taste, people may not adopt this variety despite being a staple food. Several factors such as taste, smell or appearance can alter the opinion of people regarding the new type of millet. Few people would go for the new millet if any of the factors vary from their regular millet in an unpleasent way, just because it contains more vitamin A. So, promoting the breed can end in smoke.

Secondly, is the subsidy provided by government to the farmers enough to make it profitable for the farmers? Many such promises, in reality, do not work out as they look on papers. If the amount of subsidy is not enough, the farmers will go back to cultivating the ordinary breed anyways. All the concentration given on this aspect will not work out consequently.

Thirdly, are the farmers willing to cultivate the new variety of millets? In addition to profit, there are several aspects which influence the decision of the farmers about cultivating the new breed. For exapmple, the breed may be prone to more diseases making to difficult for farming. It may require more work to grow or its growth rate may be slower than the ordinary one. If any such case happens, farmers can be unwilling to produce it regardless of the subsidy provided.

To conclude, engineering a new variety of the staple food of the nation to battle vitamin A deficiency is undoubtedly a good initiative by the government but more research is needed in the aspect to help clarify if the initiative would hold water or not.