For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses Last year however all of the five best selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin Furthermore a recent surve

In the memo, the owner of a chain of cheese stores in USA recommended that they should concentrate fully on domestic cheese and discontinue stocking varieties of imported cheese in order to improve profits. He came down to this conclusion from two reasons. One is that all of the top selling cheese varieties in one of his stores are all domestic. Another is that a magazine published a survey which shows increased popularity of domestic cheese. However his recommendation needs the articulation of some evidences about the points, he made in its support.

First of all, what are the top selling cheese varieties at his stores other than the newest one? He only mentioned about the top five best selling cheeses at his newest store. What are the circumstances in his stores other than that? The newest store may be located in a neighbprhood where people prefer domestic cheese varieties. This may not be the case for other store locations. The full picture of the demand of the customers is needed to comment if the imported cheeses have become unpopular or not. Relying on the data of one particular store may lead to wrong conclusions.

Secondly, are the people participating in the magazine's survey same as the target customers of his chain of stores? The magazine may survey people from few certain groups who are not the customers of the chain of stores, we are concerned about. Firstly, we need to know if the survey was done scientifically. Even if it was done following the correct method, the demands of the particular group of customers the chain have, may differ significantly. In that case, dismissing the continuity of imported cheese may hurt its business.

Thirdly, are the cost of stocking domestic cheeses less than what it is for imported cheeses? The cost of the two types of cheeses are not mentioned. It may be cheap to import bulk amount of cheeses. The imported cheeses may also be cheaper than domestic ones if they are easy to produce or if their quality is different. Other factors such as the supply chain, preserving conditions may also make the domestic ones more expensive. Commenting without calculating the total costs concerned with both types of cheeses is totally unwarranted. We cannot simply assume that limiting inventory with domestic cheeses would improve the profits.

Though it may seem that the owner of cheese stores here has solid basis for his recommendation, articulation is needed