In the 21st century, lives of people all over the world has been changed tremendously because luxuries and conveniences prevail in modern life. Although the luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life may deteriorate mental and physical health, it stimulates people to become strong and independent individuals. Luxuries and conveniences are disparate issues which should be discussed separately.

Firstly, speaking of luxuries, it reminds people of expensive and designer brands. The existence of luxuries definitely enables people to have more crave to climb up higher ladders in every enterprise. The reason behind it is that most people are thirsty for decent life with spacious houses or apartments, affordable children’s tuition and exquisite suits. To attain it, they must work hard and impeccably and then become more professional in their own industry. Therefore, sumptuous houses, clothes, bags, cars would incentivize them to become competitive and self-dependent.

Secondly, speaking of conveniences, they definitely grant people more opportunities to become stronger and more independent. Convenient devices and wireless network open a new way to people with more knowledge repositories and innovative lifestyles inconceivable to people lived decades ago. For example, in college, current students must finish their essays by surfing on internet and distinguishably sifting valuable information and materials. After dinner, electric dishwashers can help hustled commuters to watch movies with blue light glasses or do jogging with wearable devices which check rate of heartbeat. Internet still aids people, especially those who yearn for recharging in spare time, to learn more at home, therefore they do not need to waste time in travels. Utilizing most of available time is still the best way to become more competitive and irreplaceable. Sorting out useful information, enhancing physical health, and recharging one own attribute to access to conveniences of contemporary life.

Some people rebut that people would be addicted to transient satisfaction and excitement the luxuries and conveniences grant individuals. For example, some people only care about making fortune as much as possible and have promotion instead of pleasure of family affinity bond, ironic result is that people become money monster who only purchase sophisticated and pompous houses and wear LV bags. In addition, some people plunge in playing PC games all days instead of doing outdoor exercise and make virtual friends. However, this is the case if people crave more for luxuries and attach more to conveniences. On the other hand, I would contend that if people can appropriately employ convenience and rightly treat luxuries, these are not demons who would like to erode people’s physical and mental health and accelerate vanity of individuals.

Although the luxuries and conveniences possibly force people to live money-oriented, Only by beholding them rationally and correctly would people become stronger and less dependent.