Issue - "A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The children of a nation are its future. Along with becoming independent and successful, they are also the ones carrying the responsibility of running the nation in future times. Therefore, it is very important that we build a strong foundation in their formative years of growth. Education plays an important role in laying the base of any child's future. I believe that the curriculum followed throughout the nation should be similar but schools should have the freedom to change it to a certain extent.

Having a uniform curriculum has many benefits. It determines the standard level which is required by the student to clear before he is ready to take the next step in academic life. A common curriculum ensures a stable and universal learning for all children across the nation. There are many students who attend different schools in their childhood, due to their parents having a transferable job. This is where the idea of common curriculum has its most cited advantage, as the studies of the child will not be spoiled due to change of schools. If the guidelines are different for different schools, then the child will face problems in understanding the new curriculum, and this might damage his mental state of learning.

Today is an age of competition. Students have to face high level of competition in changing gears of education from school life to college life. There are a lot of entrance examinations been taken to check the eligibility criteria of the students. Having a common curriculum will ensure that all the students taking an entrance examination will be evaluated at the same level and there will be no discrepency.

However, I also feel that following the national guidelines of a common curriculum, the schools should have the liberty to change or modify the curriculum to a certain extent for the betterment of the students. Each student is different in his capabilities. Enforcing a student good in History to take up a subject of Biology will not do any good to the student as well as the nation. Keeping the interests of the students in mind, the curriculum should be molded in a way that they retain the students interests.

In the end, I would like to conclude that a uniform curriculum is very important at a national level. However, at the same time, schools should also be allowed to mold the curriculum to a certain extent to keep the students interested.