Issue - "A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The statement above says that a person who has knowingly committed a crime should not retain any of the civil rights and the right to benefit from his or her own labor. Laws are the basic principles which govern the society and are for the smooth functioning of the society. However, I partially agree to the above stated information as the atonement depends on the seriousness of the crime committed.

A person who has knowingly committed a crime should be rightfully convicted with his/her sins under the law. All people should abide by the laws made for the betterment of the society and any person caught in violation of these laws should be held responsible and punished. For this reason, I agree with the author's point of punishing the criminal.

However, atonement of their crimes should also be allowed considering the seriousness of the crime committed. For example, a person who has committed a murder and a person who has violated a traffic rule, cannot be punished in the same manner. Cancellation of civil rights should be the case for very serious nature of crimes committed.

On the contrary, there are instances where a person has committed a crime knowingly but cannot be judged guilty. There can be instances where a person has injured/killed another person in total self defence. Under such circumstances taking away the civil rights of the person convicted should not be done. There are many jail laws which allow inmates do various jobs during their jail-time. This can help the person convicted to have self realization of his/her actions and help them to be a better person. So, taking away the civil rights or right to benefit from their own labor is not recommended for those who are been charged for not so serious crimes.

In conclusion, I would say that the laws should be stringent enough to punish any criminal who commits a crime knowingly but cancellation of civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor should be based on the seriousness of the crime committed and also considering the situation in which the crime was committed.