Issue Topic:- An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor's record of treating similarly affected patients.Through gaining such access,the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat their medical condition.

Here,the author states that an ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor's record of treating similarly affected patients. Moreover,the author cites the reason that the such access will help the ailing patient to determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition. I completely agree with what the author is stating as such thorough access of history of doctor's treatment help the patient long time and it is necessary to do so as it could be a question of life & death of the patient.

There are many such examples which advocate the author's statement.In India,people are more concerned about their healths.Before going to visit any doctor for their diseases,they always consult their friends and relatives who know any specialist in the given field of treatment. They also consult people who in the past had suffered from the same kind of disease or very nearly related to the disease through which the said patient is suffering. Hence,people always remain concerned about their health and accordingly researches and chooses the best person in the field.

Nowadays,number of people use smart phones and remain aknowledged about latest apps. One such app is almost ubiquitous in the smart phones of people in India. The app called 'PRACTO' helps people to gather information about doctors of various fields of medical science. The app provides information about the address of the doctor, their speciality, and above all it provides ratings of the doctors based on how they treat their patients. Hence, by using this application,the patient can have a very fine idea of choosing the specialist according to their requirements.

However,there are some scenarios in which patient do not research thoroughly about the doctors. These patients either consult their family doctors or consult a very illustrious doctor or specialist.Here,the trust factor comes into the play. They blindly trusts these doctors because they know that they will be treated thoroughly and perfectly by these doctors.

On summarizing note, it can be stated that for the betterment of patient ,he must research properly so that the he can get the best treatment regarding to his/her disease. On the very rare cases, where family doctors and doctors having 'big name' should be consulted on the basis of trust factor. Otherwisw,for the nascents , the research of the records of the doctor is prerequisite.