Sportsstars and moviestars have an obligation to behave as role models for young people who look upto them.In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid,we should expect them to fullfill this societal responsibility.

The author states that sports stars and movie stars must behave as role models for the young people who look up to them.He cites the reason for it that they must show societal responsibility as they are paid millions of dollars for it. Though the statement of the author seems correct, the reason provided for it does not complement the statement. In my view,the monetary rewards should not be the sole reason for the validity of the statement rendered by the author.

It is true that the sports stars and movie stars are paid millions of dollors but these large amounts they get on the basis of their performance and the perseverence they have put in to their practice. For example, the Indian cricket team captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni is 25th on the latest Forbes list of the richest athletes of the world. The rank he has got is because of his perseverence on the field and his prominent role in making Indian team successful as it is at the moment. Sportspersons do not get rewards on the basis of their off the field behaviour but for the hardwork they put on the field.

The same goes for the movie stars. They are paid in millions because thay perform diligently to make the movie as successful as its makers want. Sometimes, they have to work in very severe conditions right from day to the late night such as in severe cold or scorching summer. Hence,they get their rewards for their excellent acting skills in reel life and not for what they do in their real life.

However, it is on the part of the sportsperson or moviestars to behave in an ethical manner as myriad of young people look up to them irrespective of the monetary rewards they get. For example, Sachin Tendulkar is very famous cricketer in India and many fanatic people worship him like a god. Therefore, he should behave in a particular ethical manner as those people try to imitate what he does in his daily life. But again, monetary rewards do not solely restrain him to behave in a particular manner.

On the summarizing note, sportspersons and moviestars should be careful in their behavior as many young people look up to them. But, the monetary rewards they get is not the sole reason or a compulsion for their behavior in real life. They get rewards not only to fulfill societal responsibility but also for their hardwork they put in their performance.