It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement argue that it is more harmful to compromise one’s own beliefs than to adhere to them. it is true that people who always shift sides does not seem appropriate, it would be better to compromise one’s own beliefs by simulating the good colleagues and receiving advice from the better to succeed in hectic modern society.

Perceiving new ideas is essential to survive and succeed in modern society. In the past, the changes of the nations, societies and individuals were small and trivial which makes living under sheer will is possible. however, as the time passes by the changes become faster and broader, thinking and executing new things become a primary thing to reach one’s goal. Samsung didn’t start as an electronic company, whose main profits come from semi conductor. however, during the IMF crisis, the leader of the Samsung made a motto, “change everything except wife” and seek for the better and more efficient way for the company. The motto made Samsung the best electronic company in not only Korea, but also in the world.

The proponents of the statement would contend that people who always compromise one’s own beliefs would always follow the trend, which makes them a part of the society. Staying at the majority won’t bring success, the uniqueness make a distance from the audience, provoking envy and admiration to them. The proponents claim that by sticking to the belief, the extraordinary idea will eventually come.

However, it is true that uniqueness is essential to be the head runner of the race, the proponents should recognized the extraordinary idea could also become quixotic, odorous idea. One of the exemplar would be the participants of the TV cooking show, Gordon Ramsay’s <hell’s kitchen="">. The participants of the show explain that the one’s cooking skills and methods are unique, but on the eyes of Ramsay, it is just all matter of fact useless. Ramsay gives advice, sometimes smoothly and sometimes harshly, and some accept them and the others don’t. As a result the people who make difficult to change one’s way that once thought it was special get good results and the others, assailed by the supreme, left the show.

When people start to race, there is little possibility that the skills and methods of oneself is the best way to do. As they go on, they would find the best way by comparing with others. By excluding bad ways from people who is behind and accepting good ways from people who is at the front, people learn what is the best way. when I was in high school, I wanted to get a high score on the test. I examined my classmates and found the student who achieved highest score on the previous test always participate the lecture actively. I threw my previous way of study away which is studying by myself and followed his way. As a result, I got significantly increased score on the test.

In conclusion, t would be better to compromise one’s own beliefs by simulating the good colleagues and receiving advice from the better.