It is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public.

Political leaders often hold critical information that can be misused by an ignorant and cynical people to possibly harm others. Since the population of any society or nation contains all kinds of people, from poor laborers to elite businessmen, criminals to intellectuals, sinners to altruists, it is, therefore, crucial for political leaders to be very careful before letting critical information out to the public. They must make careful considerations of all the implications of publicizing the information. There are many examples in history where keeping some critical information secret has saved the world from severe damage and conflicts.

Alan Turing was a genius English computational mathematician during the times of World War II. He was assigned to decipher the German Nazi communication messages encrypted by Enigma, the most sophisticated encrypting technology of that time. He did manage to decrypt the messages and, eventually, went on to control the war as such to end it quickly. The British government did not let anyone else have a slightest clue that Turing was involved in orchestrating the war. Had others known about his role, the Nazis would have adapted their communication methods and the world now would be under the cold-hearted dictatorship of the Nazis. The British government only publicized Turing’s role 50 years after his death. This is an example of how keeping critical information secret is sometimes better for the world.

People might argue that this is against the right to information, against democracy. I’m not saying all information should be kept secret and the public should know nothing; general information should be publicly available of course, but there are some mission-critical information that is better withheld from public until careful considerations are done of all its implications. Ideally, critical information should be concealed from public in such a way that they are not even aware that any such information exists in the first place. If, however, someone asks for it with justifiable reasons, then the political leaders should provide to them confidentially.

One can imagine a world where nothing is secret and everything is public. That would be a chaotic world where nothing is under control. It is necessary to withhold some critical information until it is appropriate to be publicized. It is, however, necessary to publicize everything eventually. Otherwise, people would not learn from history and could repeat it instead. There is a saying, “If some lies bring people together, it’s not a bad thing.”. And it applies to politics and leadership as well.