It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing a

Human being is a social animal. We live in societies to fulfill our needs and demands. So I agreed with the statement that it is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves. We gain self esteem from social group and build our identity according to group. In support of statement I have some examples to share.

Human behavior directed with social group because human needs social acceptance. When a child born he or she get name to make identity. The name to a child is given by society. As the child grow the social group get large with age and as well as the identity of the child also developed. The child assimilate the social groups norms and identify the group with himself.

However, Social group has strong influence on identity. It can also be understood as, when we go another country the people met us and identify firstly our social group. The way of talking, behaving, posture and gestures reflect social groups and represent our identity. It is clear in a research that 70% of communication depends on non verbal clues and rest 30% is verbal. The non-verbal communication represent our identity which we learn from social groups. People have mental image for specific social groups like In India people belongs to Delhi are very audacious, so the self identity will be assume related to social group about the person.

Moreover, we act or behave like our social group. If we ask a child talk about a growing child then we see that the child build his identity according to social group. For example a child from well mannered and educated family than he can identify different from a child belongs to poor and uneducated family. The self identity represents ourselves which is primary depends on social group.

conclusively, I explain few examples in support of statement which tells us that social group plays vital role in self identity on an individual. However, self identity has some influence of intrinsic factors but social group mold personality according to demands.