It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement contends that it is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves. Thinking about the introduction that people usually give to others, the statement is generally true, as human is cited as social animal and the filtering activates before introducing oneself. Also, the emotions floating through such relations should be considered.

Human is cited as social animal and it is easily recognized that humans think oneself as the part of the society, not the opposite way. The best way to examine the identification would be remembering how people introduce oneself to newly met people. According to the new York times, the first sentence of the introduction includes one’ name and where the person is working. Also, people usually ask about what kind of university that student is attending, or what kind of company the business person is working as a chief manager.

While conceding the statement above, the opponents of the statement contend that as the person gets longer time for introduce oneself, the one explains about what oneself is truly are such as explaining personal proclivity of colors and dishes. Rather than listing the names and titles of the societies that the one was once or is included, the person shows one’s personal identity, exposing the unique character to others. Therefore, the identification is more focused on the personality, not the social group.

It is true that people gives more information about heterogeneous aspects when introducing to others, such contention could be stated because it is not profoundly examined about what different perspective that people are willing to expose. Even when introducing oneself, no one arbitrarily throws the information about what the other might think dirty and ominous. They usually think about something amicable and sanguine considering the relation among them.

Furthermore, the social groups give positive emotions to the participants and not being one give negative emotions. People feel depression when they are leaving original group and feel happy when they enters new social group.

In conclusion, when the people define themselves, they primarily set as the participant of the social groups.