It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developing a

The cliché presses on our tendencies to identify ourselves through our social affiliations. Clearly, it is through social affiliations that we can identify ourselves starting from our culture, linguistic groups, schooling, political thought (left or right), and employment. Our journey with social groups begins at home with our birth; we are born into a culture and are bound to its relevant norms, followed by language our parents speak and to the language we are schooled in, and as we grow we are motivated to associate ourselves with social groups on grounds of career we pursue, where we live, and political thoughts we adhere to.

It begins with the birth of a child, as a child is born; he is immediately affected by the language and culture he is born into. Children take up the language that their parents speak and those in which they are instructed. Hence, language and culture are the first social groups through which we identify ourselves; it is primarily through the language we speak and culture and customs we follow we are first identified by anyone. These social groups inform us of the places we come from and help in our socializing. An identity without language we speak and the culture we follow is unimaginable, making linguistic groups and cultures our first social groups.

As the child grows and progresses in life, he is identified by his schooling, the field he decides to take as his career, the college he attends followed by the employment he takes up. A student is identified not as “John or Ethan” but as John or Ethan who studies in XYZ School and is in junior high. A bit later our John or Ethan is identified as one pursuing Bachelor's in engineering or a course in administration. Inevitably, John or Ethan becomes an engineer or a manager. These social groups of work from school to employment define our skills and education at large . Consequently, making identification without social groups impossible.

Come the election time or a heated debate our child is no longer John or Ethan but a leftist, socialist, or a right-winger and often-other times a conservative or a progressive. Our thoughts and perceptions define the schools of thought we take up to define our social groups of thought. Additionally, these schools of thought are the major groups in which we classify people beyond language, culture, and borders. Depending upon the social groups of thought we follow that are set up long before our birth, we take up decisions in our life by sticking to one or many of such groups and identify ourselves as one of them.

In conclusion, we can say that we are completely reliant on various social groups depending on our background, age, and need to identify ourselves. Making our affiliation with different groups essentially a process rather than a product. An association that starts at birth and chases us to our death and even beyond. Concomitantly, our identity without our adherence to social groups is impossible.