Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today

The World is changing too fast in the twenty-first century and brings new sets of problems which either does not exist or not a potential problem in past. Such problems have required experts to think in different ways than before. However, there are many problems exist today for which looking into retrospect may help to solve problems. Instability in the economy, court cases, relations with other countries, etc are examples of reoccurring problems to address such problems history may help to take the decision today. Thus I cannot totally agree with the provided statement.

Some of the major problems of this century are global warming, pollution, preservation of the environment, conventional jobs are being consumed by machines and artificial intelligence and many more. Though these problems require making decisions for which there is no historical context exists. For instance, excessive use and disposition of plastic is one of major problem faced today. But it was not a potential problem back into the 19th century. Thus looking for guidance back into past to make decision will be useless.

There are various factors which one should consider while making important decisions. And these factor changes with time and their relative important also varies as a result of advancement in thoughts, culture, and technology. So in this situation knowing about the past may not help one to make decisions. For example, in past, there was no place for human rights of criminals and thus they are beheaded publically even for stealing and other silly crimes. But today punishment of death is performed with cautions. So while making the judgment of such case by arbiter does not get much help from looking back in history.

Nevertheless one cannot deny that knowing about the past can help people to make decisions in some situations. For instance disputes between states regarding the distribution of water of river passing through both states can be solved by studying such disputed ever existed in past between states of that country. In this regards knowing history can be proved useful for decision making. Thus by referring past person can make a sound decision and more likely to get anticipated results.

Thus knowing about the past can help one to make critical decisions but one should not totally rely on past to make decision. The person should check validity of decision-based on past in today's situation. In sum knowing past can definitely help to make the decision and anticipate results in certain situations if not all.