The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

A letter to the editor of a scientific journal refers a recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys and tries to the editor to draw conclusion that there is the effects of birth order on an individual's level of stimulation. The letter also provides some evidence. However, after deep analysis of the letter, one can spot several flaws in the author's evidence.

A study on eighteen rhesus monkeys referred in the scientific journal provides clues that there is a relation between individual's levels of stimulation and birth order. However, it causes to raise some questions. First question is what are those clues that suggest the effects of birth order on an individual's level of stimulation? Is study of eighteen rhesus monkeys are sufficient to reach the conclusion? Have this study performed over a sufficiently long period of time to establish relation between level of stimulation and the birth order?

The study showed that in stimulation situations such as encounter with an unfamiliar monkey, firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol. The problem with this previous statement is that they have mentioned only one stimulation situation. A study does not provide information about other stimulating situations. Another problem is that it states that firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, but it does not say anything how many of eighteen monkeys had produced twice as much of the hormone cortisol?

The study does not provide information about hormone cortisol. So it creates questions among the readers. Does an amount of hormone cortisol determine levels of stimulation? Have all the monkeys been studied under same stimulation situation or different stimulation situation? There may be other reasons which cause to increase the amount of hormone cortisol. High amount of the hormone cortisol primes the body for increased activity levels. How they have determined activity levels?

The study further states that firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations. How may humans have been observed to establish such a relation? Have this behavior been observed in all stimulation situation or specific situation such as the return of a parent after an absence. The study compares only firstborn infant and second child. Will level of hormone cortisol further reduce in third child?

The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring. From eighteen rhesus monkeys, how many monkeys are first-time mother and how many mother monkeys had had several offspring? Were they all in same condition during pregnancy? In sum, this study left several questions unanswered. Unless these questions are not answered, relation between an individual's levels of stimulation and birth order.