“Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places”

In the given Issue prompt, the author tries to define the flexibility of a law. He asserts that a flexible law must be able to accommodate various circumstances, times and places. However, one cannot aver that a particular law is flexible. The flexibility of a law depends upon not only what factors it takes into account but also its implementer. I mostly agree with what the author has stated however, no single law is perfect and one needs to consider various aspects other than what has been written in the law to determine its limberness.

The hockey team of the Indian Rio Olympics contingent was supplied with substandard paraphernalia by the Indian Sports Ministry. Why? Because, there is a steadfast rule which all bureaucrats have to follow. In any contract whatsoever, the cheapest possible alternative is to be pursued. This law may seem to be valid and rational in the case of floating tenders for building of roads, coal auction or even spectrum auction. But providing low quality equipment to a team that is representing India at an international level is preposterous. Thus, laws should be flexible enough for taking into account various determinable and indeterminable factors.

Let us consider another scenario where a juvenile has fatally shot his relative for repetitively torturing him emotionally. In the eyes of law, that kid has committed a heinous crime and should be awarded death penalty. But, here the law framed should be flexible enough to consider the circumstances, time of event and the place where the crime took place. For instance, Sanjay Dutt (Indian actor) illegally bought and kept Ak-47 rifles at his home during riots for his family’s safety. This is a petty crime and was committed unknowingly and for no malicious reason. But he was sentenced to five years in jail. Again, this example underscores the importance of flexibility of a law.

Conversely, not all laws need to be flexible. For example, according to International Water Treaty no country can own the oceans beyond 200 nautical miles of its coastline i.e. the waters beyond the 200 nautical miles are owned by nobody and everybody. If a country is powerful enough to defy these laws, then it is not acceptable. All signatories of this treaty must religiously follow whatever has been written in the treaty and in no circumstance defy it. Here, the laws laid out must be rigid and should not give in to or be biased towards the might of a particular country.

In a nutshell, even though it is important for the laws to be flexible to take account of various circumstances, places and time, these factors must be clearly defined and mostly shouldn’t be compromised in any case. However, we need to note that the meaning of a law depends on the interpretation of its implementer. The implementer should be careful enough to understand and be mature enough for the law to become flexible, after all, law are just words scribbled on a paper.