Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Learning is the process of acquiring and gaining experience and learning. We can even learn on our own or through an educational institution. The prompt refers that learning primarily depends on a persons’ behavior and schools or colleges are not only the factors that motivate them. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with the former one but agree with later one that schools or colleges cannot alone motivate the students.

First of all, different factors come to play for learning. It will not be appropriate to consider learning as a matter of ‘personal discipline’. The influence from peers, parental suggestions and the environment in which the student resides plays a significant role. For instance, a person born on a family that has all of its member doctors will certainly influence him to become a doctor. The learning environment he attains from his family along with the guidance of his parents also aid the person to learn more than other person born in an illiterate family. Further, the economic status of the family or the person also plays a significant role. If a person doesn’t have enough money to pay for his education, he won’t be able to learn. Moreover, the pressure and responsibilities elicits the fear in students which motivates them to learn. The above illustrations clearly show that ‘personal discipline’ might not always be the primary factor for learning.

In addition, students can’t be motivated by school or college alone. In present context, students don’t consider college or schools only possible institutions for learning, and opt to drop out of the college. Despite dropping out of the college, many students are successful in their careers. They prefer self-learning. Mark Zuckerberg, Bill Gates are successful entrepreneurs that helps us to believe the concept of self-learning. Moreover, if colleges or schools alone could motivate the students for learning, there would not a broad spectrum of academic varieties in students. Although the students were provided with the same facilities, professors and were tested with same examination, they still have difference in knowledge. These existing scenarios helps us to believe that there are other factors that are responsible for learning, and schools’ or colleges’ is only of the factors.

However, in some lower grades, schools play a significant role to motivate the students for learning. The fear of teacher, the feeling of embarrassment among colleagues in class will motivate the students to do their homework and learn new things. In this period, the students lack the concept of self-learning and primarily focus themselves on schools and teachers for learning. The schools motivate students at lower grades significantly than the students at higher grades or colleges.

In conclusion, there are various factors responsible for learning. The ability to learn things can’t be considered ‘primary’ only nor the schools or colleges can alone motivate the students for learning. There are various factors that come to play for learning and addressing only one of them to be a only factor can’t be considered appropriate.