The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals

The prompt urges that luxuries and conveniences of comtemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals. I mostly agree with this claim and will elaborate on the necessary points to defend my stance.

To begin with, many of the luxurious and convenient inventions that we all use daily take away from our ability to develop certain strengths and independence. For example, the invention of Global Positioning System(GPS) on cell phones has taken away our need to navigate ourselves using maps and have led to individuals having a lack of sense of direction. It is no longer paramount to know your surroundings nor is it necessary to know how to get around without the luxury and convenience of our cellular devices. These skills are important to know in case of emergency and we don't have access to the technology we are so accustomed to having at our fingertips at all times.

In addition, aside from using mobile navigation systems, other things have prevented people from developing independence and strength. The invention of supermarkets have erased the need for foraging for food. The need to know how to hunt has essentially been erased from urban population areas. If grocery stores were ever forced to close down, people would end up starving if they don't have a storage of non-perishable foods. The ability to hunt and gather food is another quality of a strong and independent person that nearly ceases to exist in big cities.

On the other hand, in contrast to my position, the same things that prevent people from having independent and strong qualities are the same items that help us become stronger. Navigation on cell phones make sure that we don't get lost and end up needing help. Same for the endlessly seeming accessibility to food, this ensures that the majority of a nation's population goes without starving. However, it would benefit everyone to learn how to be efficient traveling without the help of our smart devices and be able to feed ourselves without the need to visit a store in case of an emergency.

In conclusion, although it is true that the items I have described may be helpful in many ways, it would benefit the majority of society to learn how survive without these items I have described for the reasons that I have discussed.