The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals. [Specific Task Instruction: Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The speaker asserts that contemporary life bring us about so many luxuries and convenience that it prevent people from being truly independent and strong, whick I partly agree with. Undeniably, it is those who could enjoy loneliness are truly independent and inener strong people. However, in my opinions, enjoying loneliness, which is a certain mental state, has littel to do with the physical life.

Admittedly, in the high-tech world of communication, internet, and satellite, the contemporary generation is enjoying the most convenient and luxury life that our intellect and diligence grant to us. However, in the meanwhile, these sorts of high technology deprave our right of being lonely and independent. Automobiles could deliver us to any physical destinations, such that we depend on them as crutches, thereby taking away our desire to walking, running or even wondering. We even begin to be at the mercy of automobiles when automobiles become not only a kind of transportation tools byt also a symbol of social status. We render out financial security into jeopardy to buy a new SUV or luxury sedan to gain other's admirations or envy. By be the same token, the burgeoning of luxury shows the increasing licing standards on one hand, other wise indicates people's vanity and self identification established based on other's comment, which shows our inner vulnerability across the board. We are nervous social climbers with mere and baser ambitions and greed.

However, I believe self-identity is the biggest and immediate beneficiary of modern luxury and convenient life. The internet result in information overload on one hand, however inform us all kinds of values, customs and beliefs to develop our logical thinking and keen judgment. In the process, we dig more in the philosophy world and finally form our own viewpoints. Automobile as well, provide us liberty and satisfy every caprice to go wherever we want, to go with our willing,and seek our moment of loneliness. And convenient facilities free up our time by performing repetitive tasks and provide us more time and space to vent our emotions and pursue our feelings. Moreover, advanced medical technology and medicine allow for safer and less invasive diagnoses and prescriptions, to aid people get away from affliction of diseases and epidemic. Genetics could even engineer away nascent defects. Consider to what extent if any, would something else be more beneficial than these kinds of convenience? And our emotions and spirits are truly the most lasting and immediate beneficiary of all these kinds of technological innovations.

As I see it, that we inculpate our loss of motions, our increasing lazy and compromise to technology is itself a kind of dependence and less strength as a species. Put another way, whether a person is independent and strong or not lies on oneself instead of any other outer influence or dominance. Anything is a two-fold sword, and which fold is in more priority depends totally on how we use it. Some people buy vehicles for convenience, and some for enjoyment, and others for luxury. Some people use computer being immersed in the internet for satisfying the baser instincts, while others use computer to aid the design of safer and more attractive bridges, buildings and vehicles. As to television programs, some people are immersed in trashy talk shows or advertisements to meet the ephemeral satisfaction and temporal venting of emotions, while others are indicated into international events and situations. If we see fit to use conveniences and luxuries to squander our talent, then so be it. On the contrary, if we see fit to use these to add to our intellect and independence, then so be it as well.

In the final analysis, I believe that convenience and luxury means either the progress or the retreat of our dependence and strength as individuals, which take precedence depends on ourselves.