The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Basically, I partially agree with the statement that studying history can dispel the illusion that we people nowadays are different from people who lived in earlier times in terms of human nature such as greedy, selfish or kindness. However, regarding the living style, modern people truly live in a different way than the one people in earlier times have, which I will explain later in the following paragraph. Before we go further to discuss if I agree or disagree with the statement, we should be aware that the statement might have falsely limited the main benefit of studying history to one, while there are many other important benefits that studying history could provide.

The primary reason that I partially agree with it is that, in terms of the human mind, we are not that different from people in earlier times. All human has their own natures, no matter these characteristics are naturally born with or shaped by the environments. We can learn from history that thousand years ago, because of the greedy of dominating the world, the leaders of two empires would start wars in order to prove who is stronger and to expand their territory. In current society, out of the same reason - greedy of dominating the market, an enterprise could take any measure to merge the other enterprise in order to make most of its own profit. Therefore, it is not hard to tell that we are not different from the ancient people regarding human nature.

However, speaking of the living style that we have nowadays, it is totally dissimilar from what people have in earlier times. For instance, we now have smartphones that allow us to communicate immediately with others who are located a thousand miles away, while such a thing would be viewed as impossible in hundreds of years ago. We now have advanced vehicles such as electrical cars, air plants and even rockets to the outer spaces, while people have only horse carriages, wood boots in several years ago. As a result, through history, we would discover how different we live comparing to people several decades ago in terms of the material presented.

As I mentioned before, the statement falsely limited the main benefit of the study of history as a comparison of people in different eras. Nonetheless, the main benefit of studying history should be the numerous lessons learned. For example, the nuclear explosion in Russia (Chernobyl disaster) could remind us of the dangers of using nuclear for electricity; the horrible Black Plague caused millions of deaths in Europe could remind us of the importance of containment work. I believe that the various lesson-learned should be claimed as the main benefit of learning history as it would greatly prevent the human nowadays to make the same mistakes as the ancestors did.

In sum, learning the history could not only help us realize the similarity of modern and ancient people but also make us notice the advance of our material lives, most importantly, it taught us lots of lesson-learned and would avoid us repeating the mistakes that people in earlier days made.