It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

Basically, I partially agree with this statement. Sometimes, it is harmful to compromise our own beliefs than to adhere to them when our beliefs are good. However, we should also be aware of the unstated assumption that the statement relied on. Are there only two choices? Whether we compromise our beliefs or stick to our beliefs? Couldn't we integrate our beliefs with others'?

The primary reason that I partially agree with the statement is that if our own beliefs have a great nature compared to others, why we should give them up? I had a personal experience that I gave up my own beliefs and obey others and it turned out to be a sad ending. When I was in junior high school, I had a great performance in every course. One day, two of my best friends asked me to help them cheat on the math test because they did not prepare for it. I was scared to say yes as I knew that it was wrong to help people cheat. But I compromise my beliefs and did help them cheat by letting them glimpse my answers during the test. Of course, the teachers found out that they were cheating and I was the helper. So all of our test scores were invalided and we needed to retake the test. That is really a lessen-learned. After that, I believe that it is always wise to keep my own faiths if mine is more reasonable and justifiable.

However, sometimes it could also be true that other beliefs are stronger and even better than mine. In such cases, instead of either fully compromise or strongly adhere to my faiths, I would try to seek the possibility to integrate my faiths to others'. When it comes to the discussions of business strategy, there are plenty of great ideas. Therefore, it is not always as the statement that either we compromise our beliefs to others or we adhere to ours. There are other ways to solve the dissimilar people's beliefs.

To sum up, when the nature of our beliefs is better than others', I would agree with the statement as compromising our beliefs could lead to an unwanted result as shown in my personal experience. Nonetheless, instead of only having two extreme options, we could also try to mix the diverse beliefs so to create better faiths or solutions.