The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The public in general think that the teaching of history is beneficial because it prevents repetitive mistakes. Although the human nature may seem immutable, human beings have evolved over time. In addition, by acquiring historical knowledge, we can identify ourselves better.

Admittedly, humans from the past and present share common natures. People's avarice are one of the perpetual characteristics that is constantly causing problems in history. Therefore, since humans repeat the same mistake even though they are aware of the precedent's fallacies, the study of history would be futile. For instance, the WW2 occurred even though the people of the era was well aware of the consequences of the WW1: their voraciousness caused WW2 anyway although the negative aftermath was evident. Hence, historical knowledge does not play a significant role on obviating past pitfalls.

Nevertheless, humans have continuously advanced with the society. In studying history, we can gain insight into the differences between the past people from different times. For instance, in the medieval ages religion was considered a core of society whereas in the renaissance, it key notion changed from god to humans resulting in a efflorescence of culture. Moreover, in the modern era materialism has emerged. All in all, from these ideologies forming each era which can be studied by history, we can fathom the change of the human race.

Furthermore, studying history enables us to pursue a better understanding of our identities. Since the history is a accumulation of long existent facts, values, morals, and notions, by studying the history of our ancestors, we can understand better who we are. For instance, Korean history is based on Confucianism which regards reverence towards elders a high moral standard. From this we can understand why Koreans are polite to their parents and teachers but also to the old people in general. Consequently, historical knowledge may lead an individual to understand the culture that one is residing in, which enables a better understanding of oneself.

In conclusion, the study of history may seem like a insignificant virtue since important human dispositions such as greed is intractable by knowledge of the past. In contrast, history not only enables one the understand the differences of people from various times, but also allows individuals to get a better sense of who they are.