The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living

now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or

might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The topic raises the controversial issue of whether the main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusions that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times. Indisputably, the study of history can help us derive edifying information, that can help us to find some similarities between the people of different timelines. Nevertheless, the Darwin's theory of evolution suggests that the species evolve with time and many changes are adapted according to the need of survival. For instance, according to the theory of evolution humans are successor of apes, study of history reveals that with evolution the tails in apes was discontinued in humans due to lack of use. Thus, I disagree with the opinion that people living now are very similar from people who lived in earlier times and would argue that there are a lot of significant differences that can suggest that people living now are different from people who lived in earlier times.

First of all, change is necessary for improvement. I would like to point out that without change people would still be living in the caves, hunting animals for food and clothes, but people are relatively much more refined and sophisticated in modern times. To illustrate, let us look at the example of pre historic people used to consume raw food without any regard for hygiene before the discovery of fire. However, after the discovery of fire, people started eating cooked food, which is easier to digest and more hygienic. In this circumstance, obviously people living now have significantly different way of collecting and consuming the food than people who lived in earlier times. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that change accounts for difference in people living now and who live in earlier times.

Furthermore, with time people became more knowledgeable and prudent. People in earlier times had lesser understanding of their surroundings and the universe. For example, people in earlier times did not have a well-defined language for communication, with time people developed a language and started communicating effectively. People used to believe that the earth is flat and all the planets and sun revolves around the sun but with time and research people found that earth is spherical and all the planets revolve around the sun. Hence, all the examples above demonstrates that people in the earlier times were in rudimentary stages of communication and knowledge while people living now are much more developed in terms of knowledge and communication.

Additionally, innovations in the field of technology has changed the modern people significantly. People now depend significantly on technology for communication, transportation and work while, in earlier days due to lack of technology people were dependent on letters for communication, animals for transportation and manual work. Modern innovations in medicine, transportation, and communication have reshaped societies and impacted people's lifestyles. As such, the context in which people now live is drastically different from that of earlier times, which affects their perspectives and experiences.

In conclusion, although the study of history finds certain similarities between the people in earlier times and people living now. As long as some measurements are performed or some areas are involved, their exists significant differences between the people who lived in earlier times and people living now. In fact, the modern world changes every day, there is also significant differences generations having shorter age differences. As the technology and cultural trends continue to evolve, we can conclude that people in earlier times are different from people living now.