The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and

concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire

village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews

with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these

children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about

other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion

about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered

approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that

my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much

more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island

cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and

what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Dr. Karp author of the argument concludes that his research proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid and the interview-centered method that his team of graduate students is using in Tertia will establish a more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions. This conclusion is based on inadequate assumptions and unfair comparisons. Without further information, we do not have sufficient evidence to determine whether the author's conclusion is valid.

The author mentions that Dr. Field a noted anthropologist concluded his observations about child-rearing in Tertia 20 years ago and then the author mentions his recent interviews with children. The author does not consider the fact that a lot of things can change in 20 years. Possible changes can be the migration of most people towards urban cities. Younger parents after 20 years would have become more concerned for their children. The time difference between both observations should be considered by the author before proving Dr. Field's conclusion invalid.

Additionally, the author also mentions that his recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend more time talking about their biological parents than the other adults in the village. This argument has two flaws that the author needs to provide further information about. Firstly, as the author mentions interviewing children from a group of islands that includes Tertia, the author needs to provide more information about how many children did he interview from Tertia. Secondly, the author mentions that children talk more about their biological parents which are not appropriately compared with Dr. Fields' conclusion about child rearing. As children are reared by villagers rather than by biological parents is very different than children talking more about their biological parents rather than other villagers which makes this argument vague.

Furthermore, the author mentions the interview-centered method that his team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures. The author has not given any additional information about the number of people the team will interview or what are the questions asked in the interview or which age group is the target group for the interview. Without further information the author's conclusion that this method will establish an accurate understanding is inadequate.

Ultimately, unless the assumptions are addressed, the author’s argument that Dr. Fields' observation is invalid and his interview-centered method is more accurate fails to be convincing.