Manned space flight is costly and dangerous Moreover the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men

According to the argument provided , that manned space flight is costly and dangerous and the unmanned space probes and satellites can also get us the data without costs and risks involved. Due to these reasons we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight. At the first glance the argument seems valid but it is actually unpersuasive as it is based on assumptions and has no evidence for the same.

Firstly, "manned space flight is costly and dangerous" was this statement given out on the basis of any study. It assumes that manned space flight were launched. If yes, this launch was costly and dangerous, what is the proof about that , were there any comparisons done with unmanned space flight. If yes , who did the study and what all features were considered and assumed in that study. Did people lost their lives or were hurt during any manned space flight mission ?

Speaking of cost , what is the difference between the overall cost of manned and unmanned space flight? Data collected when a manned space flight was launched versus unmanned space flight needs a comparison. There might be the case manned space flight will collect more appropriate and valid data. This data doesn't have to go through several validations as a human itself is a proof for that data while if unmanned space crafts brings the data several data validation cost needs to be taken into account.

Argument is assuming that unmanned space flight will definitely get data as accurate as the manned space flight which ofcourse might differ. Danger is always involved doesn't matter if the space flight is manned or unmanned but ofcourse for a manned space flight precautions needs to be taken.

For unmanned space flight if the space flight loses the communication from base or hits some asteroids then it is almost impossible to revive the mission but if the space flight are driven by astronauts in it who can help to avoid these communication issues and even dodge the asteroids coming in our way hence chances of mission to be successful are higher in the second case where we have manned space flight.

We should surely invest resources in unmanned space flight but for initial stages. To have advancements in space history we will eventually have to develop best manned space flight. I agree cost might be high along with risk involved but even if we don't get desired results we need to live by the quote "Try try till you succeed". One small failure will open 100 new opportunity to learn and be better.

Conclusion, report will be helpful that supports the statement, manned space flight is costly and dangerous, answering above questions. Need to consider that the data validation and verification methods will also involve costs which will be pretty high for the data collect from unmanned space crafts. Supporting evidences needed saying that data is equally accurate that is coming from both the space flights. Advancements in science and space history is necessary for any country to make their position strong all over the world.