Many important discoveries or creations are

accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to

one question that we come across the answer to

another.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to

which you agree or disagree with the statement and

explain your reasoning for the position you take. In

developing and supporting your position, you should

consider ways in which the statement might or might

not hold true and explain how these considerations

shape your position.

The speaker asserts that many important discoveries or creations are accidental and people usually come across the answer to one question when they seek the answer to another. It is true that some discoveries are fortuitous, while there are sill some other intentional discoveries. In my perspective, the statement may raise valid points under certain scenarios. However, it may be tenuous under other conditions.

Many discoveries occur unexpectedly in our quest for something else, such as an answer to an unrelated question or a solution to an unrelated problem. For instance, Columbus discovered the new continent during his way to find India. Fleming, a great chemist, fortuitously find penicillin when he did research on unrelated bacteria named staphylococci, which has been considered as one of the greatest discovery till now. And the famous beverage company, Coca cola, was a company which sold dilute linctus before a researcher of this company accidentally created this tasty beverage. Other than the aforementioned three examples, there are a myriad of examples of the unexpected discoveries when people seek for the answer to unrelated questions. Under these scenarios, the statement may be valid.

However, never can we take the statement to the extreme. There are still numerous discoveries or creations are goal oriented and are accomplished after long-time assiduous researches or experiments. For example, Madame Curie, a laureate of the Nobel Prize, had devoted herself to the experiments for a long time before she successfully refined radium, which made her become the greatest chemist in the worldwide. Another laureate of the Nobel Prize, Tu Youyou, discovered artemisinin which can be used to treat malaria after doing research in the laboratory for several years. Both of their discoveries are not accidental. Instead, they are intentional and should be attributed to the long-time endeavor of the two chemists.

Overall, some discoveries or creations may accidentally occur when people seek for the answer to other questions, while others may be goal oriented and they should be attributed to the long-time researches or experiments on them. Therefore, the statement is convincing under some scenarios, while it is too extreme under other conditions.