Do you agree or disagree with the statement? The universities should spend more money in improving facilities

(libraries, computer labs) than hiring famous teachers.

As Thomas Jefferson expressed the essence of a university, “The college is the hall of knowledge, the cradle of talent.” Universities provide excellent platform for students to gain and enrich their professional knowledge, thus the government always allocate sufficient educational budget to the universities. When referring to the issue that how should the universities properly spend the funding, people have always raised controversy. Some people advocate investing more money to improve basic facilities rather than hire well-known professors. However, I definitely disagree with their statement since these two things are equally significant and deserve the same amount of investment.

For starters, there is every reason for the university to make an effort to improve the facilities on campus, such as laboratories. These facilities simply resemble the concrete frames of architecture, which means that they lay a solid foundation for all kinds of work to function normally. For instance, with the absence of a eligible laboratory, it is entirely impossible for the chemical professors to conduct an experiment, no matter how excellent they are. If they have no place to do experiments, they have no approaches to guide their students practically. As a result, the students can never acquire opportunities to learn how to conduct a experiment by themselves, which may engender their lack of practical and professional skills. Therefore, the university should the facilities play an essential role in the university education due to the fact that the most skillful teachers are not capable of making up for the absence of the infrastructure.

However, although the facilities are of considerable significance, no one can overlook the importance of competent and experienced teachers, especially the famous ones. It can be ensured that this kind of professors have excellent teaching quality and systematic teaching method, which can dramatically improve students’ study efficiency as well as the enrollment due to their popularity. By contrast, if a university has a spacious sports court, magnificent buildings and several state-of-the-art laboratories, but the the vast majority of professors have poor standard of teaching, few people will consider it as a prominent university. Consequently, the students will have relatively poor academic performance due to the poor education quality. Also, the university will be less attractive to the high school seniors when facing fierce competition with brand-name universities.

In sum, although the statement might raise valid points for emphasizing the importance of facilities, I oppose it since celebrated teachers and excellent facilities on campus are both the key determinants of the universities’ reputation.