Many people believe that a few individuals or small groups (family, friends, teachers, celebrities, for example) have caused them to think and behave in the way they do. Yet it is always society as a whole that defines us and our attitudes, not a few individuals."

The author stayed in the side that the society as a whole that make us and shaped our personalities. He implied that the effects of the people that we are grown up nearby have a little if no effect with comparing to the society as a whole. I cannot see totally what the author trying to convince. Small group or individual in our life have a role that cannot be ignored in our life.

The role that individual or small group play in our live is immense. The family are the base that make many of our values. When we come up to the society the first place that we say our first words in our family. Parents try to ingress some value such as honest and moral behavior in their children from the day they are able to recognize the right from the wrong. Upon going to school, it is the family and friends who are now contributing with the family in changing our behavior or attitudes. Though, this cannot be stated as many student do not have the willingness to engage or they may just have taught from their parents not to engage, it is still vital. Having a dearest friend or lovely teacher was always effect may attitude toward a situation. Further, if we consider the exposing of us to TV programs or the like, then coping the characteristics of our favor character is quite often.

However, One may argue that the society as a whole who is the responsible on our attitudes. I can agree with is given the fact that people who effected from the society are largely engaged in and have the willingness to change their personalities. As we grow we are responsible for activities. We can recognize the right from the wrong. We also sometimes needs an advice that we can have from our nearby people. Take the example of the youth crime. It sometimes argued that one of the most known reason is their isolating from the family or the adverse effects that their friend have on them. It is their environment they lived in.

Therefore, it can be concluded that the individual or small group represented by family, friends, teachers or celebrities have the largest effect on our attitudes that the whole society could.