Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The issue at hand here is that the overall effect of internet and mass media has been positive. It agrees that though people are less focused on one thing, they make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information effectively, while finding what's important. I totally disagree with the presented conclusion about the effect of the internet and mass media as it undermines the possible consequences.

Firstly, due to accessibility of internet to a larger population now-a-days, many uninformed people are being fed with plethora of information. They either don't relate to it or don't know the circumstances where it was generated. This results in the fact that they don't understand the crux of the information. The issue agrees to this fact but undermines the impact of such a situation. Our present generation is major victim of this impatient attitude and everyone wants quick results in all spheres of life. Take the example of the entertainment industry. The upcoming actors and actresses are doing bizarre things like getting into public spat with respected journalists to get media limelight and attention even if it is against their personal ethics.

Secondly, undivided focus is a very important component to achieve realistic goals in life. Not only it requires consistent hard work but also undeterred perseverance in the path to achieve such an goal. But due to the digital era of internet and mass media based social network, people have started following the trend to do things which makes them famous and gives recognition in society of mass appreciation. They totally ignore the things that actually interest them and follow a trend set which they observe in the internet. Recently, we such a case of producing poor quality videos intentionally put up in Youtube. This was deliberately done to grab mass attention without thinking of the ramifications of such actions.

Lastly, making up for a gap on lack of skill, resulting from lack of focus, requires time and devotion to the peripheral skills involved. How can one is expected to excel in all fields when he or she is not able to substantially good even in one field? When a person is not able to learn a skill or lesson properly, then clearly he or she lacks the ability to identify the most important part of it. For example, we cannot expect from a 12 year old to go through social media and expect him or her to segregate information based on what is good or what is bad. Due to lack of experience, these children take in all information presented to them. Lack of regulations on internet contributes more to this.

Contrary to this, we can say that authorized guidance can help in such cases. but is it really possible to do such scrutinization all round the clock? Also, it can be pointed out that with time, people will learn the correct use of internet and ignore the bad stuff. But we cannot say this for each individual. Moral sets for all vary. Also, immediate implications of the bad things reflect in the real life society. These are more harmful than not.

In the end, I would say that extreme regulations are needed in the present day internet. People need to be made aware about the use of mass media and the authentication of information presented to them. Hence, the irregularities can then be muted.