"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that

includes Tertia and used the interview centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp

conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future

research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memorandum's suggestion that to obtain the accurate information about child-rearing techniques can be correctly analyzed using individual-centered method is completely flawed. In this report, the conclusion is borrowed from the results

that were opposite to the results of an earlier conducted observational experiment. Not only this is unreliable to draw a straight conclusion the second technique is accurate, it questions the method of science and reasoning. Furthermore,

their is no evidence about the set of people being under observation or inteviewed for the study were same.

Coming straight to the first point that whether questioning the individuals is actually a reliable method. Does this mean, the interviewee took care of selecting the right individuals for the method? What was the proportion of these people compared to the entire population of the islands? Also, no information has been provided about the nature and the number of questions that was being used in this interview-centered method. It may have happened that these questions were biased towards obtaining the answers that were opposite to the results given by Dr. Field.

Next, since it has been concluded that the method of Dr. Karp is accurate enough to apply it in similar research on the subject. But, there is no case of similar research going on in any other region except the island of Tertia. This not only questions the basic approach of finding results in science, but also abuses the spirit of scientific ethics of presenting a method which should be universaly acceptable. The report has no results of such case studies from other islands where the results were reliable. therefore concluding that interview-centered method is the most accurate one is flawed to the core.

This makes us come to the next ppint that whether the results were compared with any other method other than that of Dr.Field. On what grounds was it pointed out that Dr. Field's results were not accurate and gave false representation of child-rearing methods of Tertia. Did they target the same age group? It may would have happened that Dr.Field was focussing on older individuals whereas Dr. Karp was focussing on the younger ones. We all know that younger ones are more close to their mothers, biological parent, than the older ones and hence was the result of Dr. Karp's experiment.

To support or check if this method used by Dr. Karp is accurate and trust-worthy for future research as well, the method should be experimented in other geographical regions as well. They should form questions which takes into the factors extraneous to individual regions. They must ensure that all of the population is represented in the experiment and that the results are portrayed as they come out. The results of such an experiment should then be compared with different methods that have been used at other regions and then conclude about its accuracy of this method.

In the end, I would again point out that this conclusion on the interview-centered method is flawed and the report should have been a more exhaustive one to draw such an sharp conclusion for rejecting Dr. Field's completely without proper analysis. This will keep up the spirit of reasoning and conclusions reliable.