Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Technological advances always had and will always have two sides. After entering the information age, there is dilemma in comparing the advantages and disadvantages of the internet. As the author had stated correctly, the poeples's focus is reduced, but their production have increased. In my opinion the rise of the internet and other machines are helping us, as compare to their disadvantages. Although spending most of the time in front of illuminated screens, using social media, hours of online gaming might have caused some physical and mental health issues, but their benefits in finance, scientific research, medical diagnosis, entertainment, space exploration are noteworthy.

The human brain took millions of years to evolve in its current form, where the idustrial age took around hundred year, and after entering in the infirmation age, it has been just some decades, which affected our lives drastically. The natural evolution process is not made to sustain this huge speed of advancement, and it can not cop up with the speed of change in outer world. That is the reason human brain and body sometimes finds it difficult to adapt change easily, especially when the chnage is so fast.

On the other hand, people might have lost their focus on singular things, but their overall knowledge did increased. For instance, during the surfing on social media, an individual can found many different blogs and advertisnments, driven by the interest, he or she can aquire knowledge, not able to get it otherwise. Staying connected with world on finger tips is now possible due to use of social media.

In addition, the patiens of an individual is decreased in moden era, no one wants to wait. But in my opinion, it is a good thing, as now individual do not have to waste the time waiting. We have a option to book restaurent table, book movie tickets, pay bills online, even now we can book taxi's online. In this age it has become easy to save time, and devote the same time for better purposes. Although this time can be used for unintended activities such as social media, online gaming, chatting with stranger, but there is possibility of spending time with kids, elders, families and your other loved once.

In summary, the rise of internet have both faces, advantageous and disadvantageous. It is upto the inclination of people, which part they adapt. The internet is time saving advancement, at the same time it is time consuming entertainment.