The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

The parent is claiming that, if school will not change the vendor then, there will be serious helth consequences for students. If changing the cafeteria from low-fat, low-calorie meal to regular meal can cause health issues, then in my opinion parent is misguided, or assuming many informations.

Firstly, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to Swift Nutrition, in order to privide students healthy food. As per the parent's claim, the students are not enjoying the food, because his or her son, as well as some other friend's of son are complaining about that. From the letter is is not clear that, how may students did not like the food. Moreover, the complaints were about lunch options, not about quality of the food, or taste of the food. If there are just few students, who are complaining, then there must be something wrong with their eating habits.

Secondly, the parent is claiming that, if Switf will not replaced by other vendor then, students will bring their own, less helthy lunches. The school tranfered the food provider form cafeteria to Swift Nutrition, to provide them healthy diet, so it seems that the food from cafeteria was less healthy. Although, if students will bring own unhealthy food then there might be consequences, but how can it be so worse then before, as the cafeteria food was also not so better when the health is concerned. In addtion, if students are bringing their own food, then they must be bringing from home, and if patrent is certain in his claim, then students must be eating unhealthy, junk food at home itself. Thus, regardless of school's decision about changing vendor, will not affect their preference over unhealthy meal.

Lastly, the parent is suggesting to change the vendor, not to reestablish the old cafeteria. If the school and parent is concern about the health if students, then another healthy, organic food provide will not be much different, the Swift Nutrition. Instead of pointing the problem with current vendor, how can school find another vendor with the hope that problem will solve.

To sum up, the letter from parent might came in good hope for all the students, but it lacks many informations to back his or her claim in the provided situation. There are some futile solutions suggetsed by parent, whcih does not have any solid base. Thus, whithout getting the same complaints from other parents and students, as well as without getting the core of the problem, the school management should not take any step regarding provision of food.