Most people are taught that loyalty is a virtue. But loyalty---whether to one's friends, to one's
school or place of employment, or to any institution---is all too often a destructive rather than a
positive force
Is loyalty all too often a destructive force, rather than a virtue, as the speaker contends? To
answer this question it is crucial to draw a distinction between loyalty as an abstract concept
and its application. Apart from its consequences, loyalty is clearly a virtue that all humans
should strive to develop. Loyalty is part of a universal ethos that we commonly refer to as the
golden rule: Do unto others as you would have others do unto you. However, whether loyalty in
its application amounts to virtue depends on its extent and its object.
First consider the ways in which loyalty, if exercised in proper measure and direction, can be
a positive force. Relationships between spouses and other exdusive pairs require some
degree of trust in order to endure; and loyalty is part-and-parcel of that trust. Similarly,
employment relationships depend on some measure of mutual loyalty, without which job
attrition would run so rampant that society's economic productivity would virtually come to a halt. And, without some mutual loyalty between a sovereign state and its citizenry there can be
no security or safety from either revolt or invasion. The world would quickly devolve into
anarchy or into a despotic state ordered by brute force.
On the other hand, if misguided or overextended loyalty can amount to a divisive and even
destructive force. In school, undue loyalty to popular social cliques often leads to insulting and
abusive language or behavior toward students outside these cliques. Undue loyalty amongst
friends can turn them into an antisocial, even warring, gang of miscreants. And, undue loyalty
to a spouse or other partner can lead to acquiescence in abusive treatment by that partner,
and abuse of oneself by continuing to be loyal despite the abuse.
Misguided loyalty can also occur between people and their institutions. Undue loyalty to
college alma maters often leads to job discrimination--for example, when a job candidate with
the same alma mater as that of the person making the hiring decision is chosen over a more
qualified candidate from a different school. Loyalty to one's employer can also become a
destructive force, ifit leads to deceptive business practices and disregard for regulations
designed to protect public health and safety. By way of undue loyalty to their employers,
employees sometimes harm themselves as well. Specifically, many employees fail to advance
their own careers by moving on to another place of work, or type of work altogether, because
of a misplaced sense of loyalty to one company. Finally, and perhaps foremost in terms of
destructive potential, is misguided loyalty to one's country or political leaders. History shows all
too well that crossing the fine line between patriotism and irrational jingoism can lead to such
atrocities as persecution, genocide, and war.
To sum up, without loyalty there can be no basis for trust between two people, or betwepeople and their institutions. A world devoid of loyalty would be a paranoid, if not anarchical,
one. Nevertheless, loyalty must be tempered by other virtues, such as fairness, tolerance, and
respect for other people and for oneself. Otherwise, I agree that it can serve to divide, damage,
and even destroy.