Science and technology will one day be able to solve all of society’s problems.

Science and technology have played a vital role in every historical change that has been brought in our society. We can not think of the modern world without the contribution of science. The prompt states that science and technology will one day able to solve all society's problems. In my opinion, this statement is exaggerated.

Society consists of human beings. It is human, not a machine that builds a society. The ethics and moral principle of society are gradually developed by the people of it. However, human society is beset with many problems that can not only be solved by the advances of science and technology. Gender discrimination, poverty, racism are the major problems that the current world is facing. Only science and technology can not change this aspect alone. To exemplify, if we want to talk about the countries that are technologically advanced, America will come first. The people of America have struggled a lot to mitigate racism. They have a long history of anti-racism movement. But it is still a major problem for this country. Recently a black guy named Floyd has been killed by a white policeman. As a result, protests, and movement disseminates throughout the country, even in a global pandemic the situation was hard to control. Gender discrimination is another problem that cannot be attributable to science. It is the mindset and attitude of men towards women that are needed to be changed. Even in many third world countries, many well established but conservative family prohibit their women from doing outside jobs or taking higher education.

Moreover, the authority or government of a society plays a notable role in this regard, For example, poverty in third world countries is a major problem not because that they are technologically backward, but only because they are corrupted. So the ethics and moral principle of the leadership of society also play a crucial role. Science can not make human honest.

Someone may argue that technology has brought such changes that were once beyond imagination. If this development and advancement go at such a pace, every problem will be solved. Well, it is true that technology has brought peace in our lives. they have solved many of our problems. We can now contact each other from one country to another easily. But it is also true that nowadays youth trends to be more confined to a laptop or virtual world, which make them unsocial and self-centered.

In conclusion, I would say that it is the intention of a society which determines, which way society will progress. For sure science and technology will help us in this regard, But they are not the main factor. The goodwill of human will play a key role.