In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

As it is said, knowledge can take you places, but imagination can take you everywhere. imagination consists of a process where the mind is let to run free and explore. And as a result of this unrestricted process, the outcomes of it might vary tremendously. having said that, in today;s professional fields, it is only in some cases that an imagination which leads to productive work is really required. examples are research, where completely new phenomenon might be studied. In such cases, as there is really no available knowledge, a creative process is required to interpret and potentially discover things. For example, the study of astronomy involves observing events which most likely have never occurred before. As these events are studied, there can be cases where there is no possible explanation of that particular occurence of an event. In such a case, various factors have to be studied and a proper conclusion for the cause of the event has to be arrived at. they are solely dependent on their creative abilities to decipher the cause. but it is noteworthy here that in spite of exploring a completely uncharted territory, they are still relying on a lot of prerequisite knowledge about the universe. All the discovery in the universe has some basis in the universal laws already known to us. Thus it would be imprudent to say that an imagination process solely drives these professions. As it turns out, a lot of the jobs popular today are in fact knowledge intensive. they often require minimal, if not null imagination and creative abilities. For example, the profession of a surgeon. He/she operates solely on the knowledge acquired over a period of his graduate study. there is minimal scope of imaginaton there. A surgeon cannot try to be creative and try out new things just to 'discover' something new, given the seriousness of the job. they merely apply the skills that they have acquired over a period of time. this is true for all process intensive jobs. take another example of an engineer. The knowledge of machines and mechanical structures they use is how they accomplish things in their job. Nevertheless, it is also true that an engineer might have to employee creative problem solving skills to get the work done, but this creativity comes keeping in mind that the solutions possible has to be consistent with the knowledge he/ she has. As it is clear, the professions often employee knowledge as well as imagination. it is important to understand that imagination can only get things done if and only if there is sufficient background knowledge. Therefore , the rwo things are complementary ro each other rather than mutually exclusive.