In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

In order to excel any kind of profession, a basic skillset related to that profession is necessary. In order to develop that skillset, having a prior knowledge of that field is important. When we gain knowledge about something, our mind analyses it and understands it. This then gives rise to imagination, which can then be applied in practice.

Take the example of a doctor who performs surgeries to save peoples lives. A doctor spends years and years gaining knowledge on the working of the human body, diseases, their causes and remedies. If he does not have ample amount of prior knowledge of his field, he would not be able to treat people efficiently. Whenever an emergency occurs, the doctor can take quick decisions and treat his patient on the basis of his knowledge alone, as this knowledge gives him the confidence to perform his job effectively. Imagination is of little importance here, as the doctor is able to do his job based on his knowledge and expertise.

In academic fields, a teacher should have thorough knowledge of his subject in order to make sure that his students grasp the concepts. He can use his imagination to think of ways to make his pupils learn effectively, but this imagination can only arise when he has the required knowledge of his field. Academic curriculums are designed such that students gain and develop their knowledge of various subjects. Even exams are designed such that the students showcase their learnings and the knowledge they have gained. The knowledge enables students to further use their inagination to apply their knowledge practically. Hence, in academic fields, knowledge is given more importance than imagination.

Even fields like art where imagination plays a pivotal role cannot do without knowledge. A painter has to know the basic technique of handling a paintbrush and mixing colours to put his imagination on paper and share it with the world. A sculptor must know the art of sculpting and must be experienced enought to create a beautiful sculpture. An architect cannot design a house if he does not have the basic knowledge of architecture. In sports, knowledge and expertise of the players is of greater importance than imagination of the players. In technical fields like engineering, imaginaton can only be developed when the engineer is well versed with the basic concepts of science and mathematics. Even scientists, who are believed to rely more on their imagination to formulate a hypothesis, cannot do so without having a thorough knowledge of the field of their research.

In conclusion, I would like to say that imagination can exist only when there is prior knowledge and experience. It is very difficult to imagine something which we have no knowledge about. It is knowledge that gives birth to imagination. Furthermore, imagination is intellegible only because of knowledge. It is of no use to have imagination in professional or academic fields if we do not have the knowledge of how to share it with the world or apply it in practice.