In most professions and academic fields imagination is more important than knowledge

In the world today, we constantly hear that one of the most imporant factor for success is the power of imaginaion. Many successful people have given talks about how creative thinking can be vital to one's growth in almost all the fields, without ever mentioning how knowledge can be helpful to one's professional growth.The prompt above agrees with such a position and argue that imagination is more important than knowledge in most fields. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this stance and argue that the importance of knowledge is superior than that of imagination in most professions and fields for three reasons.

To begin, imagination can only be built on top of great foundation knowledges. To contribute something new to this world through ingenuity, history has shown us that it is only possible when one possess erudite knowledge in a field. For instance, one might consider Albert Einstein to be the epitome of powerful imagination, as he has invented numerous amount of inventions that benefit the entire society even until today. However, one cannot ignore the fact that he was only able to reach his achievement through his deep insights of the scientifical knowledge. Even if he possesses the most powerful imagination, he couldn't have overcome the scientific obstacles for his breakthrough in science if he doesn't possess superior knowledge. The above example illustrates that despite imagination is a desirable quality, its significance is no match to the importance of knowledge when it comes to inventing something new.

Furthermore, even if we assume that imagination and knowledge are matched in their importance for elites such as Albert Einstein, knowledge still carry more weight than imagination in most professions, as the former being a required quality to possess and the latter being a desirable but optional trait. Most workers, especially when they are in lower positions in a company, have job responbilities that do not require so much imagination, as their work routine consists of simple task that do not always require much critical thinking. Take kitcken crews as example. Their daily responsiblities may require them to take care of simply tasks, such as cleaning and meal preparing. They may also occansionally take care of more complex tasks, but mostly informed by their supervisor. Solely possessing ingenuity doesn't help them in their work environment because it is a trait that is not utilized often. On the other hand, a kitchen crew still need to possess enough knowledge when carrying out the task, as he needs to to how to clean more efficiently and what items are needed for each recipe. This example shows that generally, knowledge is more important than imagination because it is required in more professions for almost all employees, whereas imagination is not required.

Of course, some argues that imagination is the most important factor for success, as the ability to think "outside of the box" is being cherished by many successful people today. While that may be true, don't you need to have enough understanding for a topic to think differently? If a cook wants to make the most creative dessert, doesn't he need to know enough of basic culinary knowledge to start selecting the corrent type of flour and knowing the best temperature to be set for the oven? The power of imagination can only blossom on top of the soil of knowledge. Without soil, there will be no flowers.