A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how those examples shape your position.

Throughout history, the standard K-12 education system in the United States has been constantly facing challenges from a variety of opponents, which ranges from erudite scholars in education to simply angry parents who are not satisfied with the reading materials in an English class. Consequently, the idea that a nation should have a homogenous curriculum from kindergardern to high school is always being debated. The prompt suggests that the same national curriculum should be required by a nation. In my option, I strongly agree with the prompt that the entire K-12 system should be uniform accross the country for two reasons.

To begin, a uniform K-12 education system will benefit the nation entirely by simplying the education as a whole and make the system to be evaluated easier. When all of the schools teach the same materials, it makes the education commmittees easier to evaluate other factors that contribute to students' performance, such as teachers and learning environments, and examine what factors need to be improved in each school to enhance students' learning experiences and efficiency. For instance, if the high school education system is allowed to be heterogenous, the graduation rates of high schools in two different districts may be harder to explain. It might because the district with higher graduation rates have easier math and english classes, fewer exams, no AP classess being offered, and etc, which makes it almost impossible for the nation to evaluate and improve the education system as a whole. On the other hand, if the national curriculum is the same across all high schools, evaluators can shift their focus to other factors that contribute to the differences the graduation rate, perhaps more human errors made by teachers and principles or lower fundings for learning supplies. The above example illustrates that, because curriculum in schools can flucuate too much, controlling them to being uniform can better help the national to improve the evaluate and improve the education system in general.

Moreover, even if we assume that a heterogenous school curriculum is stiil manageable for the nation to evalutate, having different school curriculums may easily contribute to inequality in education opportunities. For instance, there is an drastic increase of private schools in the United States that claims to offer unique curriculum to provide a better learning experience for their students, such as horse riding class and rat experiments in biology classes. Although those schools seem to be attractive to attend to, they require a significant cost of attendances, which are only available to students with better financial backgrounds. This creates a disparity of education opportunities in students with different socioeconomic backgrounds, with students from wealthy backgrounds able to learn more topics in great depth, but leaving the other students, who are not borned into a wealthy family, behind. Consequently, those wealthy students can have a better shot at entering Ivy League universities compared to their counterparts, which further expand this disparity.