Claim: In any situation, the best way to persuade other people is to present them with facts and statistics rather than with emotional arguments.

Reason: Facts are objective, so they are more persuasive than subjective appeals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Humans are emotional beings, and many a time, our judgment is affected by our emotions. The prompt claims that in any situation, the best way to persuade other people is to present them with objective facts and not emotional arguments, as facts are more persuasive than emotions. I am afraid I have to disagree with the claim and argue that emotional arguments are equally persuasive; if not more, I will support my claim for the following three reasons.

To begin, let’s look back at history to World War II. There was tension between America and the United States, but Americans were not eager to engage in conflict. In order to rile up Americans to take arms against the Japanese, propaganda was contrived. Posters portraying Japanese soldiers with fangs, knives dripping with blood were put across the city to rile up emotions at the domestic level. Americans then started to question the safety of their family, which consequently garnered support for the war. It must be noted that at that time, there were no Japanese Soldiers causing havoc in the vicinity. It was just the emotions evoked by the poster that caused the unrest. This incident champions that emotions can be as effective as a subjective argument, if not more.

Further, let’s delve into the ubiquitous issue of discrimination against Muslims. Most of us share the belief that all men are created equal, and we should not discriminate against one another in the name of religion or the color of our skin. We are also well aware of the infamous attack by Bin Laden on the World Trade Center (the 9/11) in 2001. The act of terrorism instilled fear, an emotion into many Americans which exasperated Americans to become hostile towards fellow Muslim denizens. The antipathy was not sound, but it had the power to transform the views of millions of Americans overnight. Unfortunately, even today, many Americans are hostile towards Muslims. Such is the power of emotions, and it can convince profound people to make decisions against their beliefs.

Finally, let’s look at a quotidian example of luxury goods if one makes a basic comparison between a “Louis Vuitton”(LV) bag and another bag that can be bought at TJ Maxx. It is fair to say that both the bags have the same function and differ mostly in their price. While an LV bag costs thousands of dollars, a quality bag can be bought for under two hundred dollars at TJ Maxx. I can say from experience that the TJ Maxx bag is going to be more durable in the long run. Contrary to the fact, many of us still splurge months of rent to afford an LV bag. Why so? It is conspicuous that the consumer is blind-sighted by emotions to make an improvident decision. Hence, again this obviates that emotions are as powerful a tool as logic.

To conclude, people may say that, on the contrary, facts are more persuasive in cases like job interviews. Yes, I do agree that emotional persuasion is not all that you would need in that case. Your work ethic will get you the first interview. But even during the hiring process, there is a bar raiser round where the interviewer gauges to see if you would be a right fit for the institution. That is the place where your numbers stop to work and some emotional persuasion is needed. In most cases, the Hiring Committees don’t want to work with a person who is only numbers. They want to see some passion and empathy. Hence, I can reiterate that emotional persuasion can be as convincing, if not more, in various situations when compared to facts.