Issue Task - In business, education, and government, it is always appropriate to remain skeptical of new leaders until those leaders show that they are worthy of trust.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Since the very beginning of human civilisation, humans had a tendency of choosing leaders who are responsible for taking important decisions for their community and guiding them in a particular direction. A good leader can prove to be instrumental in enhancing growth of any organisation and ensuring prosperity of a community. The given prompt suggests that in any field people should not blindly trust every decision taken by their leaders until they have proven themselves. I believe, in the modern world this statement doesn’t hold any ground and, in my opinion, skepticism among the general public about their leaders can substantially reduce the effectiveness of the governing authority and can harm the social order of a society. There are a variety of reasons which can be given to justify my position.

To begin, it is a proven fact both by observation and historical facts that any society, organisation or enterprise can never progress if the people started to doubt their leaders. For instance, there is an organisation where a new CEO is appointed and he has offered some changes in the working structure of the company as well as has suggested future plan on which company should work. But since he is a new leader, people started to doubt his capabilities and worked according to their own will and personal conscience. It doesn’t take any rocket science to predict company’s future trajectory. This kind of approach will undoubtedly lead to a great amount of chaos and disorder in the organisation which will consequently lead to decline in the current growth rate of the company. It is evident from the given example that it is imperative to have a proper chain of command with proper discipline to maintain a suitable social order in any organisation.

Furthermore, it should be acknowledged that if a leader has reached to a particular position, he must be having a substantial amount of credibility and would have already proven himself. In the modern contemporary world where whole humanity has evolved so much, it takes a great amount of effort and perseverance to reach a dignified position in any field. Whether be it in the field of business where it takes years for someone to reach a managerial post or be it the case of democratic societies where it takes trust of millions of people to get to a leadership position, all these cases are testament to the capabilities and calibre of any leader in any field in the modern society. I am not saying that these leaders will always take the right decisions and I am also not denying that people should protest if something seems wrong, my only argument is that to ensure sustainable development in any organisation it is necessary that people have a certain amount of trust in their leaders.

In summary, it is understandable to be a little skeptic about a novice leader and constant suggestions by the workers or the public can be beneficial both for the leader as well as the organisation but, not trusting him seems a little too extreme since it can have severe implications on the discipline and progress of the institution. Afterall, history is evident of the fact that any society with great achievements was always led by a strong leader and a strong leader can never survive without the trust of his people.